Vanilla-chocolate-marzipan cake

IMG_8668I wouldn´t think of myself as the person who makes the fanciest cakes. I´ve made quite a few in my life which turned out not too bad but the things I am really good at are the good old basics. Like grandmas apple cake. Zwetschgendatschi or muffins in endless variations. I´m not too bad at desserts either. Crème brûlée? Mousse ou chocolat? Panna cotta? No problem. But when it comes to cakes and frosting and decoration, I get a little nervous. Nevertheless, sometimes I feel the urge to get in the kitchen and make one of those fancy-shmancy cakes that gets everybody’s attention. Frosting included! Continue reading “Vanilla-chocolate-marzipan cake”

Strawberry cake with white chocolate

IMG_4630Sooo, here comes the birthday cake number two. Because March is the month where I get to live out all my cake making dreams. This one is a delicious strawberry cake with a lot of white chocolate and whipped cream. Oh, and a vanilla bean. Because vanilla beans make everything better. I know that strawberries are not really in season right now but what am I supposed to do when my sister dearly wants strawberries for her birthday? But if you wait until summer to make this cake, you won´t regret it. It´s delicious!

IMG_4526The recipe is a mixture of combining two recipes and adding my own ideas. I´ve tried both recipes before and both were really good. But each felt like there was a small thing missing. So I decided to take the best from both recipes and create something new. The result was perfect! I used the dough from the German recipe because I love sponge cake (is that really the correct translation?). Anyway, here in Germany, cakes are usually made with a dough called “Biskuit” which is really soft and fluffy. I´ve tried other recipes that used a rather normal cake dough for the layering and they were good but just a bit to firm and stiff for me. Then I added a lot of strawberries, mascarpone, whipped cream and white chocolate. The best thing about the white chocolate decoration is that you don´t have to worry about messing up the frosting of the cake. Just add little pieces of white chocolate and everybody will think you´re a cake-decorating expert.

Continue reading “Strawberry cake with white chocolate”

Oreo cake

IMG_4220March is a good month. Mostly because three out of the six family members celebrate their birthday in March and you know what that means right? Cake! Lots of it. When I was younger, my mom would always make our traditional birthday cake with lots of chocolate and M&Ms on top. But when my baking addiction kicked in it was my responsibility to make something special for each birthday boy or girl. And since my brother loves Oreo cookies, it was obvious that I had to make something involving chocolate and Oreos.

IMG_4224I´ve tried different recipes for Oreo cakes before. If found this recipe in the new edition of Sweet Paul and I knew I just had to try it. It was similar to the recipes I´ve made before but just a little bit fancier. And as you can see, the result was stunning. Doesn´t it look beautiful? Well, I have to admit that the cake only lasted that way for 10 Minutes. Then, as I was trying to get a good picture, the background collapsed and smashed half of the cake. It was a bit cricked afterwards and since I didn´t have much frosting left, the end result looked a bit different from what I am presenting to you. Oh well, nobody´s perfect. It still tasted great!

Continue reading “Oreo cake”

Vanille-Schoko-Marzipan Torte

IMG_8668Ich würde von mir selber jetzt nicht unbedingt behaupten, dass ich die absolute Torten-Queen bin. Ich habe in meinem Leben schon ein paar gebacken die auch durchaus ästhetisch ansprechend sind, aber mein Steckenpferd sind eigentlich eher die guten, alten, bodenständigen Rezepte. Omas Apfelkuchen zum Beispiel. Zwetschgendatschi oder eben Muffins in allen Variationen. Ich stelle mich auch ohne jegliche Berührungsängste der Herausforderung von aufwendigen Desserts. Crème brûlée? Mousse au chocolat? Panna cotta? Alles kein Problem. Aber wenn es um aufwendige Tortendekoration und Verzierung geht werde ich schon unsicherer. Nichtsdestotrotz überkommt mich in regelmäßigen Abständen die Lust aufs Backen von einer fancy-schmancy Torte. So richtig mit Böden-aufeinanderstapeln und abgefahrener Ganache und so. Weiterlesen…

Erdbeertorte mit weißer Schokolade

IMG_4630Es geht weiter mit der Tortenschlacht. Wie bereits erwähnt ist der März einer der Monate in denen ich mich in der Küche richtig austoben darf. Ich würd ja gerne öfter Torten backen aber irgendwie muss man sie ja auch loswerden. Aber Geburtstage müssen gefeiert werden und deswegen gibt es eine Erdbeertorte mit weißer Schokolade. Bevor es jetzt Haue gibt, weil es noch nicht Erdbeersaison ist…ich weiß, ich weiß, aber was soll man machen, wenn Schwesterherz inbrünstig nach Erdbeertorte verlangt? Ich würde empfehlen dieses Rezept einfach im Sommer nachzubacken, dann schmeckt es wahrscheinlich noch mal doppelt so gut. IMG_4526Das Rezept für diese Torte ist ein bisschen Eigenkreation gemixt mit Inspiration von diesen beiden Rezepten. Ich hatte beide schon mal ausprobiert und beide kamen gut an. Also habe ich einfach das Beste von beiden genommen und miteinander vereint. Und eine Vanilleschote rein getan, weil Vanilleschoten einfach alles besser machen. Das Ergebnis war spitze. Dieser Biskuitteig ist einfach der Hammer und mit Mascarpone kann man sowieso nix falsch machen. Und das gute an der schokoladigen Deko ist, man braucht sich nicht so den Stress zu machen, dass das Frosting auch perfekt sitzt. Kommt ja eh noch Schokolade drauf.

Weiterlesen…

Oreo Torte

IMG_4220März ist ein guter Monat. Im März haben drei der sechs Familienmitglieder Geburtstag und das bedeutet: Kuchen! Und zwar jede Menge davon. Früher gab es zum Geburtstag traditionell „Kinderkuchen“ mit Schokoglasur und jede Menge Smarties. In den letzten Jahren durfte ich auf Wunsch des jeweiligen Geburtstagskindes auch mal was anderes machen. Und da Bruderherz ein großer Fan von Oreo Keksen ist wurde es also eine Oreo Torte. Ganz was leichtes.

IMG_4224Das Rezept für diese Torte hab ich in der neuen Sweet Paul gefunden. Ich hatte die Jahre zuvor bereits schon andere Rezepte ausprobiert und dieses war den anderen ähnlich, war aber was das Endergebnis anging noch ein bisschen extravaganter. Wie man sieht macht die Torte schon ordentlich was her. Sieht sie nicht wunderschön aus? Tja, so sah sie ganze 10 Minuten lang aus. Dann fiel mir bei dem Versuch die Torte zu fotografieren die Platte des Hintergrunds auf die Torte. Und daraufhin war die Verzierung zur Hälfte Matsch und die Torte leicht angedatscht. So richtig retten konnte ich sie dann leider nicht mehr, das Frosting wurde schon zu hart um nochmal ordentlich zu verzieren. Und so hat das Geburtstagskind dann eine leicht schiefe Torte bekommen. Naja, geschmeckt hat es trotzdem!

Weiterlesen…